Delete your Yandex Browser data

For your convenience, Yandex Browser saves data. This can include your passwords, autofill data, search queries, or addresses of visited pages. If you want to ensure anonymity:

  1. You have access to your computer
  2. You don't have access to your computer

You have access to your computer

Attention.

First make sure that the information you need, like passwords, will not be deleted.

If syncing is enabled, the data you delete from your computer will be deleted from all your devices during the next sync.

  1. Click   → Advanced → Clear history or press Ctrl + Shift + Del (in Windows) or Shift + + Backspace (in macOS).
  2. Select the period to delete the data.

  3. Select the data types you want to delete.

    Data available for deletion
    Data type Comment
    Browsing history Addresses of web pages you have visited and all IP addresses associated with these pages.
    Download history List of downloaded files in the browser. The files remain on your computer.
    Cached files Web page elements that the browser saved in the cache in order to load them faster on your next visit.
    Cookies and other website data and plugins
    Saved passwords Passwords you've saved in Yandex Browser.
    Autofill form data Autofill data you entered in web forms, including personal data and bank card numbers.
    Media licenses Licenses to reproduce purchased content such as films and music. Please cancel these licenses before you sell or donate your computer.
    Note.
    • Yandex Browser extensions can store data on your computer or in Yandex ID. To erase this information, delete the extension.
    • Go to the settings to delete handling rules for website elements (pop-up windows, microphone access, and so on) and exceptions for specific websites.
  4. Click Clear.

You don't have access to your computer

If you have lost your laptop or left your computer behind at your previous place of work, you can still delete Yandex Browser data from it. It is possible if the computer you don't have access to is connected to the internet, Yandex Browser is open on it, and syncing is enabled in the browser.

To delete data on the computer you don't have access to while saving it in your Yandex Browser:

  1. On your computer, log in to Yandex Browser with Yandex ID and enable syncing.
  2. Copy your profile data.
  3. Delete data in Yandex Browser.
  4. Wait for the data to sync with the server.
  5. Disable syncing for the computer you don't have access to.
  6. Restore your profile data.
  7. Pass the recovered data over to other devices.

Step-by-step instructions:

1. Open Yandex Browser and enable syncing.

Open Yandex Browser on your computer and log in with Yandex ID.

If syncing is not enabled, enable it:

  1. Click   → Settings → Sync settings.
  2. Click Enable.
  3. Log in with your Yandex ID. Syncing will start.
  4. Select the data you want to sync.
  5. Wait for the data to sync. It may take up to 20 minutes, depending on the internet speed and the amount of data.
Note. You can see the syncing status in the Yandex Browser widget. To display the widget in the menu, click  → Settings → Interface and select Show sync widget in the menu.
2. Copy your profile data.
  1. Create a master password, if you haven't created it yet.
  2. Export passwords via a file.
  3. Close Yandex Browser by clicking   → Advanced → Close browser or pressing Ctrl + Shift + Q.
  4. In Explorer, open the C:\Users\Your account name\AppData\Local\Yandex\YandexBrowser\User Data\Default folder with your profile and copy it to a different folder on your computer. The AppData folder is hidden. To see it, enable hidden folder display.
    Note. If you use multiple profiles in Yandex Browser, copy the Profile <number> of the profile you need.
3. Delete the data from Yandex Browser.

Open Yandex Browser and delete the data:

Passwords
  1. Click   → Passwords and cards.
  2. If you have already created a master password, enter it to access your vault.
  3. Select Site. All sites in the list will be selected.
  4. At the bottom of the page, click Delete.
Bookmarks and bookmark folders
  1. Click   → Favorites → Bookmark Manager.
  2. Select a bookmark, then click Ctrl + A. All bookmarks will be selected.
  3. At the bottom of the page, click Delete.
History, downloads, autofill data
  1. Click   → Advanced → Clear history or press Ctrl + Shift + Del (in Windows) or Shift + + Backspace (in macOS).
  2. In the drop-down list, select The beginning of time.
  3. Select Views, Downloads, Autofill form data.
  4. Click Clear.
Extensions
  1. Click   → Add-ons.
  2. In the From other sources section, select the extension and click Delete.
Bank card numbers
  1. Click   → Passwords and cards.
  2. If you have already created a master password, enter it to access your vault.
  3. Open Bank cards.
  4. To delete a card, hover the mouse cursor over it and click Delete.
4. Make sure that the data on the computer you don't have access to is deleted.
  1. Go to the Account page.
  2. Scroll down the page and open Logins and devices → Devices, services, and applications.
  3. In the list, find Yandex Browser on the device from which you want to delete data.
  4. Check the date and time in the Last entry field. As soon as the data deletion is synced with Yandex Browser on the device you don't have access to, the information will be updated. Syncing may take up to 40 minutes, depending on the internet speed and the amount of data.

5. Disconnect the unavailable device from syncing.

In the same window, click Disconnect device under the device name. Syncing with your account will be disabled for the computer you don't have access to.

6. Restore the copied data in Yandex Browser.
Note. If you exported passwords to a file, import them to Yandex Browser.
  1. Close Yandex Browser by clicking   → Advanced → Close browser or pressing Ctrl + Shift + Q.
  2. In Explorer, open the С:\Users\Your account name\AppData\Local\Yandex\YandexBrowser\User Data folder and paste the saved Default or Profile <number> folder into it.
7. Pass the recovered data over to other devices.
  1. Launch Yandex Browser.
  2. If you transferred multiple profiles, click the profile icon in the upper-right corner and select the one you need.
  3. Make sure that the data and settings are there.

After a while, the recovered data is added to the server and becomes available on all your synced devices.