Email backups

Turn on Keep deleted emails and back up emails from your most important folders. If you accidentally delete any important emails, you'll be able restore them.

Keep all deleted emails

With the Keep deleted emails option, you can access all emails deleted from your mailbox within six months.

  1. Click in the upper-right corner.
  2. Select Backup.
  3. Turn on Keep deleted emails.
  4. Confirm the action by entering the code sent to your primary phone number. If you haven't linked your phone to your account, confirm the action by entering your password. We recommend linking your phone. This serves as additional protection for your account and email backups.

To recover backed up emails:
  1. Click View under the option.
  2. Select the emails you want to recover.
  3. Click Move to folder above the email list and select the folder to move the recovered emails to, such as Inbox.
Attention. If you disable this option, all deleted emails not saved in the backup will be permanently deleted.

Create a backup

Emails in your folders are saved in the backup when you create it. Emails added to the mailbox after the backup is created won't be added to it automatically: you'll need to create a new backup.

  1. Click in the upper-right corner.
  2. Select Backup.
  3. In the Select folders for backup section, click and select the email folders you want to back up. Save changes.
    Restriction. You can back up a maximum of 100,000 emails.
  4. Click Create backup to manually back up emails from the selected folders.
  5. In the confirmation window, click Create.
  6. Confirm the action by entering the code sent to your primary phone number. If you haven't linked your phone to your account, confirm the action by entering your password. We recommend linking your phone. This serves as additional protection for your account and email backups.
Note. When creating a backup, you can only view your emails in the mailbox. You won't be able to send or receive emails. The emails you were supposed to receive during that time won't be lost, though. You'll receive them as soon as the backup is created.

Restore emails from a backup

You can use a backup to restore emails that were deleted from the mailbox after the backup was created.

  1. Open the “Backup” section in Yandex.Mail settings.
  2. Click Restore emails from backup next to the date and time of the last successful backup.
  3. In the confirmation window, select where to save the recovered emails: in a separate folder or in the folders where the emails were stored before. Click Restore.
  4. Confirm the action by entering the code sent to your primary phone number. If you haven't linked your phone to your account, confirm the action by entering your password. We recommend linking your phone. This serves as additional protection for your account and email backups.
Note. Email recovery takes some time. Emails will gradually show up in the mailbox.

Delete a backup

  1. Open the “Backup” section in Yandex.Mail settings.
  2. Click next to the date and time of the last successful backup.
  3. In the confirmation window, click Delete.
  4. Confirm the action by entering the code sent to your primary phone number. If you haven't linked your phone to your account, confirm the action by entering your password. We recommend linking your phone. This serves as additional protection for your account and email backups.

What happens when the subscription ends?

If you unsubscribe, you won't be able to view deleted emails or restore emails from backups. However, we'll retain the deleted emails and backups for a while, so you can have time to renew your subscription.