4.7. Mapping rules: Japan

  1. 4.7.1. Rules for adding attributes to addresses
  2. 4.7.2. Administrative divisions
  3. 4.7.3. Hydrography

This section contains mapping rules which apply specifically to Japan.

4.7.1. Rules for adding attributes to addresses

The “official” name of the address is set as “Block No. — House No.” (where the block is the chome division unit), and the name of the “Also known as” type can be listed in hieroglyphs.

For example:

  • Official: 1—1
  • Also known as: 1番1号

4.7.2. Administrative divisions

Hierarchy levels for administrative divisions:

  • Level 2: Prefecture (analogous to region). Japan is divided into 47 prefectures.

  • level 3:

    • Subprefecture (six prefectures are divided into subprefectures).
    • District (subprefectures are divided into districts).

    Level 3 divisions don't cover the entire country.

  • Level 4:

    • City, town, village.
    • Special wards of Tokyo and development areas.

    Level 4 divisions cover the entire country.

    Development areas:

    • Are drawn along the borders of the development.
    • Have names that can be found in the municipality card.
    • Have municipalities as parent divisions.
  • Level 5: City district.

  • Level 6: Historical region, district, block, named intersection.

  • Level 7: Block.
Check Municipality for all level 4 items except development areas.
When divided into chomes, the numbers in the local name should be written in Chinese rather than Arabic numerals: 〇 一 二 三 四 五 六 七 八 九 十.

4.7.3. Hydrography

Map gulfs within their geographical boundaries and name them in accordance with the name of their coastal part (-wan). You can specify the geographical name of the gulf as well as the name of its outer part (-nada) as a synonym.

For example, for Sagami Bay, specify Sagami-wan Bay as the official name and add Sagami Bay and Sagami-nada Bay as synonyms.